Green Tomatillo Salsa

Mmm, tomatillos are in season and all over the farmer’s market right now. I couldn’t resist, and found this great recipe for canning tomatillo salsa. It was so good, I’ve made it twice – once with a triple batch! If you like enchiladas, this is the sauce for you.

How to? Here’s how I did.

First, buy a pound of tomatillos at the market.

CIMG6196

Peel the husks off. This part is sticky. Oh so sticky. Then wash these suckers. They are covered in sticky dirt. Why are tomatillos so sticky? It’s worse than garlic-hands, but just barely.

CIMG6197

Wash them. Oh, clean hands. Pile the tomatillos into bowls and admire them. Like a bunch of shiny green apples, except ready to be made into salsa.

CIMG6200

Chop into itty bits. The recipe calls for five cups. That’s a lot (or so I thought until I did the triple batch)! You can also quarter the tomatillos and then puree them in a blender, which is what I did the second time around. Same flavor, different texture.

CIMG6195

Yeah, those are serrano peppers. With two tiny, spicy peppers of unknown name. Black Beauty? I know it’s a horse, but is it a pepper too?

CIMG6202

Put on gloves. I learned my lesson the last time, when I rubbed my nose and then had to walk around for an hour with yogurt on my nose. Chop chop chop. I added some banana peppers in this batch to make the volumes up. Obviously, the heat level varies with the type of peppers…beware!

CIMG6203

Chop the onions. Cups and cups of onions. Red/purple onions are a lot harder on the eyes than yellow or white onions. I’d forgotten. The stench is something.

CIMG6206

With all the other ingredients (see below), heat and stir in stockpot/saucepan. Mmm. It looks so festive, and smells amazing. There is much simmering, and much stirring. It smells like a taqueria might.

Insert canning process here. Yay, boiling water, boiling jars! Canning is fun!

CIMG6209

While the actual canning process is going on, here’s what you see around you. Benny is so, so tired. She always falls asleep during her kitchen yoga class.

CIMG6231

And the next day, you have successfully, beautifully-canned tomatillo salsa, ready for some great enchiladas, or maybe dipping with chips, if you’re adventurous. I find the name entertaining, as this salsa is definitely not green, and more of a sauce than a salsa, but that’s all semantics. Final decision: tomatillos, though sticky, make delicious food.


Tomatillo Green Salsa

Yield: 5 pints

5 cups chopped tomatillos
1 1/2 cups seeded, chopped long green chiles
1/2 cup seeded finely chopped jalapeños
4 cups chopped onions
1 cup bottled lemon juice
6 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 Tbsp ground cumin*
1 Tbsp salt
1 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan and stir frequently over high heat until mixture begins to boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Ladle hot salsa into pint jars, leaving 1/2-inch headspace. Adjust lids and process in a boiling water canner 15 minutes at 0-1,000 feet altitude; 20 minutes at 1,001-6,000 feet; 25 minutes above 6,000 feet.

You may use green tomatoes in this recipe instead of tomatillos.

*Optional according to nmsu, NOT optional here!

This entry was posted in canning/brewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Tomatillo Salsa

  1. Dad says:

    Gloves are all important when doing anything with peppers. I thought I taught you better when I used to make salsa a lot. Without gloves, peppers juice stay on your hands and will irritate any body part that is touched…yours or anyone elses.

    • ashinwi says:

      Apparently I skipped out on that part of the demonstration way back when. After having to put yogurt all over my hands and nose and have Tim laugh at me, that definitely conditioned me to wear gloves from now on! Good thing I hadn’t gone and petted Abigail afterwards…that would’ve been goofy!

Leave a Reply

